Folly and Glory : The Berrybender Narratives

  • by Larry McMurtry
  • Narrated by Alfred Molina
  • Series: The Berrybender Narratives
  • 8 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the final volume of The Berrybender Narratives, Tasmin and her family are under arrest in Mexican Santa Fe. Tasmin, who would once have followed her husband anywhere, is no longer even sure she likes him, or where to go next. Captain Clark, of Lewis and Clark fame, is puzzled by the great changes sweeping over the West, replacing red men and buffalo with towns and farms. Jim Snow, Kit Carson, and one of Lord Berrybender's many illegitimate offspring make their way back to Santa Fe. But even they are unable to prevent the Mexicans from carrying the Berrybender family on a long and terrible journey across the desert to Vera Cruz. Beset by Indians and hounded by their Mexican guards, the Berrybenders endure all the horror of the Jornado del Muerto: the legendary Dead Man's Walk. The Mexican commander of the party falls in love with Tasmin, with unhappy consequences.
Starving, dying of thirst, they finally make their way to New Orleans, where Jim Snow has to choose between Tasmin and the great American plains. And after all her adventures, Tasmin must finally decide where her future lies.


What the Critics Say

"As always, McEwan manages his own idiom with remarkable grace and inventiveness." (Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story, great characters

I thoroughly enjoyed this saga, all four books. McMurtry did not disappoint with great characters, tying in historical characters and events, and bringing the harsh reality of the frontier to life. Alfred Molina was perfect as well. I'm just sorry it's done.
Read full review

- morebooks99

Read the whole series!

This book is not readily understandable without the background of the earlier 3 in the series. Together they are a howl and a hoot combined. This one alone might not be so hot.
Read full review

- Rebecca Lindroos

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-26-2006
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio