Fly Me

  • by Daniel Riley
  • Narrated by Vanessa DeSilvio
  • 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A nation on the verge of a new era - and a girl caught between her past and the ever-expanding present.
The year is 1972, and the beaches of Los Angeles are the center of the world. Dropping into the embers of the drug and surf scene is Suzy Whitman, who has tossed her newly minted Vassar degree aside to follow her older sister into open skies and the borderless adventures of stewardessing for Grand Pacific Airlines.
In Sela del Mar, California - a hedonistic beach town in the shadow of LAX - Suzy skateboards, suntans, and flies daily and nightly across the country. Motivated by a temporary escape from her past and a new taste for danger and belonging, Suzy falls into a drug-trafficking scheme that clashes perilously with the skyjacking epidemic of the day.
Rendered in the brilliant color of the age and told with spectacular insight and clarity, Fly Me is a story of dark discovery set in the debauchery of 1970s Los Angeles.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Summer Reading 2017

I found this book by a google search of summer reading 2017. The narration was very good.

The worst part about this book was the constant use by the author of tie-ins to periods in time to authenticate his timeline. Not that that isn't always done but in this case, the examples drone on and on.

The ending of the book is unbelievably weak. It's as if the correct number of words had been reached. The last line might as well have been "Okay, we're finished here."
Read full review

- Cheri

The perfect summer read

What made the experience of listening to Fly Me the most enjoyable?

Extraordinary characters and atmosphere, a breathless and gripping peek into a young woman's adventure as she leaves behind her Vassar diploma to become a stewardess based in a Southern California beach town in the early 70s.

Read full review

- Sarah Goulet

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio