Floating Staircase

  • by Ronald Malfi
  • Narrated by Monty Lewis Sauerwein
  • 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following the success of his latest novel, Travis Glasgow and his wife Jodie buy their first house in the seemingly idyllic western Maryland town of Westlake. At first, everything is picture perfect—from the beautiful lake behind the house to the rebirth of the friendship between Travis and his brother, Adam, who lives nearby. Travis also begins to overcome the darkness of his childhood and the guilt he’s harbored since his younger brother’s death—a tragic drowning veiled in mystery that has plagued Travis since he was 13.
Soon, though, the new house begins to lose its allure. Strange noises wake Travis at night, and his dreams are plagued by ghosts. Barely glimpsed shapes flit through the darkened hallways, but strangest of all is the bizarre set of wooden stairs that rises cryptically out of the lake behind the house. Travis becomes drawn to the structure, but the more he investigates, the more he uncovers the house’s violent and tragic past, and the more he learns that some secrets cannot be buried forever.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed

I've never read this author before. But certainly will again. Don't pass it by. Usually I have an idea as to who the culprit is. I didn't see this coming although he gave us all the clues. If you're looking for a horror story. This isn't it. This is a mystery the ghost is one of the characters. If you love a good mystery you will be thoroughly entertained. The narrator is excellent,
Read full review

- R. S.

A Little Horror, A Little Mystery, A Little Ghost

Ronald Malfi writes a horror/mystery that is worth a credit. It got my attention on page one, and held my attention throughout. There were good twists that eventually weave together for a well delivered novel. The Floating Staircase is the story of a man who is haunted throughout adulthood for a moment of carelessness as a child, and a haunting that finally grants him the redemption he very much deserves.
Read full review

- Jan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-13-2013
  • Publisher: Audio Realms Publishing Company