Regular price: $13.96

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Flight is the hilarious and tragic story of an orphaned Indian boy - "Zits" - who travels back and forth through time in a charged search for his true identity. With powerful, swift prose, Flight follows the troubled teenager as he learns that violence is not the answer. The journey begins as he's about to commit a massive act of violence. At the moment of decision, he finds himself shot back through time to awaken in the body of an FBI agent during the civil-rights era. It's only the first stop. He continues through time to inhabit the body of an Indian child during the battle at Little Bighorn and then rides with an 1800s Indian tracker before materializing as an airline pilot jetting through the skies today.
During these furious travels, his refrain is: "Who's to judge?" and "I don't understand humans." When he returns to his own life, he is transformed by all he's seen.
©2007 Sherman Alexie (P)2008 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

" quickly surrenders to Zits' voice, which elegantly mixes free-floating young adult cynicism with a charged, idiosyncratic view of American history. Alexie plunges the book into bracing depths." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Christine Walker on 09-12-15

Thank you Mr. Alexie

I listened to this book on a road trip w my 11 year old son. The themes and language were mature so I'm glad we listened to it together and often stopped to talk about issues and viewpoints that came up. It was a valuable book that portrayed a marginalized teen with great compassion. Seeing a "troubled kid" and those in his orbit with this type of dimension and humor instead of in a flat meme is important and it was written and read so beautifully we were both riveted all the way to Portland.

Read More Hide me

23 of 23 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By h berr on 04-28-09

Great Narrator

Great book. Wonderful narration. I'm glad that Adam Beach collaborated again with Sherman Alexie. He had already done some fine work for him in the film "Smoke Signals".
Also I will try to comment on some interesting points that Heather remarked on the book. First, she pointed out that Zits trust someone in less that 12 hrs when he usually trust nobody. Well in my opinion he is alone and has nobody in life and many people in need or who lack some meaning in their lives will be instantly attached to someone who is willing to listen and who somehow can answer all of their questions. Many people in need will do anything to be always listened or accepted by this person (unfortunately a lot of the wrong people are aware of this).
Second point, she finds that Zits has an unjustifiable "deep connection to the Indian side of his heritage". I think that this can be somehow justified because he is trying to fill a great void in his life and probably his Indian face and looks encourage him to find out more about himself (or the part of himself that he is missing) and probably that's why he tries to get as much info on this subject as he can, that's why he watches films on History Channel and hangs out with Indian drunks.

Read More Hide me

19 of 19 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews