Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Before you embark on a journey of vengeance, dig two graves." - Confucius.
With the dark cloud of civil war gathering on the horizon, Gabriel Garrett struggles to protect his new home and the new life he has just begun. But as he soon learns, a man's past has a way of catching up with him, and Gabriel has more than his share of dark secrets.
When his world is shattered, he will walk a path of vengeance across a land where the dead hold sway, and the living count their lives in seconds. His enemy is the deadliest he has ever faced, and in this battle, there is no justice, no redemption, and no mercy.
There is only revenge.
©2014 James N Cook (P)2014 JN Cook Entertainment LLC
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Thia on 08-16-14

Where did the zombies go?

Any additional comments?

This is an okay follow-up to the rest of the series but where did the zombies go? This one is mostly man vs bad guy after the world ends kingpin - which isn't bad but this author has written very creepy zombie action and tingled my spine in the past so I was a little disappointed. This series may have run its course. If you have read the rest of the series then this one is worth your time but I may or may not start the next one (if there is one.) Let's just say I'm not chomping for a follow-up.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

By Samuel on 08-26-14

The best so far...

First let me start off by saying I'm glad Guy Williams returned to read this volume. Though I thought the narrator of book 3 was serviceable- the series is much better with Guy on the mic. That being said, this to me was the best book in the series. I plowed through the last 5 hours of the book non-stop which is rarely something I find myself doing! The book is centered around Gabe which at first had me concerned as I'm a big fan of Eric and his story. Nevertheless it was an amazing story that adds a lot to Gabe's character and the series overall.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By James on 10-05-14

Another masterpece in the genre.

Where does Fire in Winter rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

A continuation of a great story. With engaging character's.

What other book might you compare Fire in Winter to, and why?

J L Bourne`s series, but better than that for realism and apathetic characters.

What does Guy Williams bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Great voice acting breathing life into the protagonists.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Gab has come full circle. from warrior to defender.

Any additional comments?

Loved it want more!!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Richardmk on 07-23-15

Gabe's Story

Once again the perfect mix of present and past tense. Fire In Winter not only gives an exciting historical insight into Gabriel Garrett's story, but it also tells the listener how both the main characters are fairing in a world of undead.

The past and present come together in an explosive climax which strengthens both the characters personalities and resolve.

James N Cook at his best. I'm completely addicted...

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Ben on 01-19-15

best book of the entire series!

I really enjoyed this book. In the other books, the author jumped between the two lead characters. With this one, he stuck with Gabriel, which I liked immensely. Can't wait for the next book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc