Regular price: $9.07

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $9.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Fangoria, America's number-one source for horror.
"A Fungus Among Us" by Steve Nubie: A mysterious fungus is causing people to act like zombies before their heads explode and spore - like snakes ooze out of their brains!
"Wolf" by Max Allan Collins: A modern-day werewolf whose appetite for beautiful young women vacationing at a lodge retreat has guests and workers panic-stricken.
"The Late Shift" by Dennis Etchison: A company takes flesh-peddling to a whole new level.
"Reincarnal" by Max Allan Collins: A young woman may be the reincarnated victim of a serial killer on the loose.
"A Good Head on His Shoulders" by Max Allan Collins: In Chicago, in the early thirties, gang wars are an everyday occurrence. Mobster Louie Carboni is used to such violence. But what can the hideous decapitation murders of seven college professors, courtesy of a maniac dubbed the Mangler, have to do with the mob?
"A Heated Premonition" by Carl Amari and M.J. Elliott: Based on the famous short story "August Heat" by W.F. Harvey, it's the story of two men whose glimpses, each of the other's possible future, lead them to a strange and paralyzing standoff.
Hosted by Malcolm McDowell and commissioned by Fangoria, these original short stories are fully dramatized to thrill and chill you!
©2012 Carl Amari (P)2012 AudioGO
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jim "The Impatient" on 02-23-16


These stories are very professionally done. The music and sound effects are perfect. I might mention that there are a few pregnant pauses, which made me wonder if it had stopped. The list of stories is almost correct. Instead of A Heated Premonition, the story is Living Space by the same author, M.J. Elliot. I don't know about the story that was listed, but Living Space was a very good story. I liked all the stories. None of them are very scary. Most of them end in a twist. Since I knew they were going to end in a twist, I guessed most of them before they happened.

My favorite was the first story The Late Shift, I would give it an A-. A Fungus Among Us, Wolf, and Living Space I would give B+'s. Reincarnate a B- and A Good Head On His Shoulders a C.

I feel that these stories are entertaining and the price is right.

Read More Hide me

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jeremy R. Snyder on 05-18-14

Terrific! If you like horror, you want these!

These are simply great. Fangoria has given us lean and mean horror that gives you everything you want in intensity, curious twists, and spine-tingles. The performance is first rate and the stories range from classic feels with contemporary edges to unique and fresh ideas. I would eagerly buy ten more volumes at twice the price.

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jonathan Mills on 11-18-12

Interesting horror fiction, very well dramatised

The Dreadtime Stories collections are the home of some brilliantly enjoyable horror fiction, imaginative and interesting and excellently written and performed. Some of it I saw coming, some of it genuinely surprised me, but I enjoyed all of it - "Wolf" was particularly clever in the way it leads you by the nose into your own conclusions, and then effortlessly trumps them. This is a must have for fans of horror stories or dramatized horror stories.

If you enjoy this, Volume 2 is just as good, and you might want to check out Tales from Beyond the Pale, also on audible.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc