Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When Griffin's past collides with his present, will it cost the lives of everyone he loves?
Between the threat of a world-ending invasion from the Outside and unwelcome revelations about his own nature, Percival Endicott Whyborne is under a great deal of strain. His husband, Griffin Flaherty, wants to help - but how can he, when Whyborne won't tell him what's wrong?
When a man from Griffin's past murders a sorcerer, the situation grows even more dire. Once a simple farmer from Griffin's hometown of Fallow, the assassin now bears a terrifying magical corruption, one whose nature even Whyborne can't explain.
To keep Griffin's estranged mother safe, they must travel to a dying town in Kansas. But as drought withers the crops of Fallow, a sinister cult sinks its roots deep into the arid soil. And if the cult's foul harvest isn't stopped in time, Fallow will be only the first city to fall.
Fallow is the eighth book in the Whyborne & Griffin series, where magic, mystery, and m/m romance collide with Victorian era America.
©2016 Jordan L. Hawk (P)2016 Jordan L. Hawk
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By katelyn on 10-30-16

An upswing in the series.

This is one of those series that I wasn't sure about tackling at all, in the beginning. Historical fiction in the mm genre hasn't really been my thing, overall. These books are in fact much more fantasy than history though, and the things that I often find annoying about historical romances aren't really present in this series - I fell in love with Whyborne & Griffin from the very beginning.

Since I have read (or listened to) all of the books in the series it is difficult for me to judge if this book would work as a stand alone. I think it would be an okay stand alone - I don't think the listener would be completely lost as far as the plot of this book, though to be sure it features characters and makes mention of plots from earlier books - so would be best read as a part of the series as a whole.

I was all on board for the first handful of books in the series, but around book 5 I started to get a little nervous. Every time a new book comes out in this series I am both excited, but also anxious. Just by the nature of it being a relatively long running series, it is bound to either get repetitive or ridiculous as the jeopardy continues to inflate, by necessity, to retain the tension and reader interest. I live in dread of the volume where it finally completely jumps the shark.

Not yet. In fact, while I've only rated the story in the last couple of books with 4's (I liked them a lot, but they fell short of the first few that I totally loved), this one gets another 5 from me. It feels like it has returned a bit to the flavor of those earlier stories, and I was completely happy and satisfied at the end of this book. I will undoubtedly continue to look forward to future volumes with the same bit of trepidation - but I will also absolutely keep buying them.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 01-24-17

Just keeps getting better.

One of my favorite things about Jordan's writing, is to quote one green ogre, is the layers of world building we see peeled away as the story continues. The downside is the books really need to be read in order but as it's a great series I'd say, if you haven't discovered Widdershins, you have some mighty fine reading to look forward to. Angst levels bubble along at a steady pace, there but not on ed whelming.
Will I read / listen to again? Definitely.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews