Regular price: $25.87

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An elegant, daring, original, and compelling novel, set against a gaslit backdrop of social and political turbulence in early 20th-century London, Falling Angels draws a picture of family life that exposes the prejudices and flaws of a changing time. In January 1901, two families become inextricably linked when their daughters meet in a fashionable London cemetery. Separated by social class as well as taste, the Waterhouses cling to traditions while the Colemans look ahead to a more modern society. As the girls grow up and the nation emerges from the shadows of oppressive Victorian values, one woman's bid for greater personal freedom has disastrous consequences, changing the lives of both families forever.
Don't miss Chevalier's surprise best seller and book club favorite, Girl with a Pearl Earring.
©2001 Tracy Chevalier (P)2001 HighBridge Company
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Chevalier again proves herself an astute observer of a social era...[she] shows imaginative skill in two neatly accomplished surprises, and the denouement packs an emotional wallop." (Publishers Weekly)
"[Twomey's narration is] a quiet tour de force that makes this intriguing tale enthralling." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By KB on 03-18-03

Haunting Historical

I love historical fiction! This story is definately worth the listen/read. I had a real sense of how life differed in the previous century's turn. The characters are very believable. If you took a time machine back, you'd meet one of them. A Victorian era author could not have told the tale better.

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jan Durkin on 02-19-05

Perception is everything.

The view of life from the numerous and varied percpectives was done brilliantly. The author gives personal and accurate glimpses of humanity through the eyes of different classes, generations, and values, holding the listener's attention at every turn. I thoroughly enjoyed this read.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc