Regular price: $14.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A prequel to the nationally best-selling Jeff Resnick Mysteries, this collection of short stories chronicles Jeff's (and his brother, Richard Albert's) backstory. What forces molded these men into the people they are today? Find out in these 11 thought-provoking tales that span from Jeff and Richard's first meeting until two years before the first book in the series, Murder on the Mind. These stories are not mysteries.
Table of Contents:

"First Contact"
"Betty's Dead"
"Shooting Hoops"
"Resnick's Revenge"
"The First Noel"
"Food for Thought"
"The Turning Point"
"Happy Birthday?"
"Leaving on a Jet Plane"
"Sleep's Dark and Silent Gate"
©2013 L.L. Bartlett (P)2015 Lorraine Bartlett
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By P. Priest on 06-23-15

A Must Read to better appreciate Jeff & Richard

A Must read to find out the back story behind Jeff's and Richard's young lives and their living together when Jeff was a teenager, and beyond.

The funniest part was the prank Jeff pulled on Richard's grandmother when she barged into Jeff's room without knocking.

Steven Barnett does an excellent job narrating this and all of L L. Bartlett ' s books!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 02-22-16


Any additional comments?

There are several short stories that flow from one to another. This is the backstory of Jeff and his brother Richard. We see their first meeting together an the guilt and disappointment they felt for each other.
These are not happy, fun stories but a look into what shapes two men....all the lost little opportunities they had, the misunderstandings...really everyday life and how that shapes all of us.
I said these weren't happy stories, at the same time their not depressing...just a look at real life and all its consequences. Now I feel like I understand the characters better and i even felt their pain.
Interesting stories. The narrator is terrific and really highlighted each character.
I'll want to read and listen to more stories by this author/.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc