Regular price: $16.77

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $16.77

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it's every woman for herself....
Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times best seller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews, the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer companion.
When Charlie's husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke, and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.
Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she's single she's got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love - painting.
But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one....
©2015 Trisha Ashley (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"One of the best writers around!" (Katie Fforde)
"Full of down-to-earth humour." (Sophie Kinsella)
"A warm-hearted and comforting read. Trisha at her best" (Carole Matthews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By jodiod on 06-19-15

Adorable.

Loved every minute of this book. Light but still meaningful. Utterly delightful and quirky characters.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By F. on 12-10-15

Treat yourself to a good giggle. Oh yes !!

Totally engrossing from beginning to end. Charlie is so lovable, a girl after my own
heart. Her thoughts and actions had me giggling and laughing out loud. The down to earth
affection of her family so amusing you will want to become one of them, sister, cousin
even. I listened late into the night and didn't want to stop. Narration by Julia Barrie couldn't have been more perfect. So good I just started this book again straight away, just
to have that feel good feeling. I would give it six stars if I could.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Katie on 07-23-15

Great Original Storytelling

In Every Woman for Herself the main character Charlie, named for Charlotte Bronte, seems to be on a 'journey' to find her own strength through adversity. She has a family of siblings all also named for the other Bronte siblings, by their Bronte obsessed father; but there is a twist waiting here!

The book is mostly set in Yorkshire, which I suppose is essential for the Bronte connection. It is peppered with the alternative magazine articles that Charlie is writing to entertain herself. It has some almost black comedy to do with squashed watermelons. I think Trisha Ashley could win prizes for the originality of some of ideas. The narrator is absolutely fine too.

All in all, quite a complex story line, with lots of characters who play a small but important part in the plot. There are also some main central characters who all live happily ever after, or alternatively get what they deserve!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Seagull on 02-16-18

Great Fun

This is a romance which doesn't take itself too seriously. Lots of unexpectedness in the plot, odd-ball characters, and it's always engaging. It also has a satisfying happy ending. The style of narration fits in with the feel of the book, and makes it easy to differentiate between which character is speaking. A great feel-good book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc