Eight Girls Taking Pictures

  • by Whitney Otto
  • Narrated by Joy Osmanski
  • 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of How to Make an American Quilt comes a powerful and sweeping novel inspired by the lives of famous female photographers.
A deeply affecting meditation on the lives of women artists, Whitney Otto's vivid novel explores the ambitions, passions, conflicts and desires of eight female photographers throughout the 20th century. This spectacular cast of spirited, larger-than-life women offers wide-ranging insight about the times in which they lived. From San Francisco to New York, London, Berlin, Buenos Aires, and Rome, Otto spins a magical, romantic tale that creates a compelling portrait of the history of feminism and of photography.
While their circumstances may differ, the tensions these women experience - from wanting a private life or a public life; passion or security; art or domesticity; children or creative freedom - are universal. Otto seamlessly weaves together eight breathtaking vignettes to form a moving and emotionally satisfying novel.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I can't believe it's not true!

Would you listen to Eight Girls Taking Pictures again? Why?

It was fascinating, and a great performance!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Lennie, because she reinvented herself so well and because her backstory was such a clear motivation.

Have you listened to any of Joy Osmanski’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes, and this one lived up to my high opinion of her talents.

Any additional comments?

I had to check several times to make sure I was mistaken about the facts of this story. It seems so real. The Period detail about women artists is fabulous!

Read full review

- Jan

I Will Listen To This Book Many Times Over...

The above title leaves nothing more to be said... besides this: do yourself a favor & don't miss listening to this gem ♡
Read full review

- Erin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-06-2012
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio