Don't Try to Find Me

  • by Holly Brown
  • Narrated by Hillary Huber, Angela Goethals, James Fouhey
  • 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When a 14-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her - launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.
Don’t try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.
As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have "limited resources." If they want their 14-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches
But Marley isn’t the only one with secrets.
With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It's not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it’s discovered that she’s lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley's disappearance.
Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Tedious Melodrama

The story is about Marley, a 14 year old girl who runs away from home to join her boyfriend who she met online. That's an interesting plotline and it could have been good except its way too drawn out and focuses more on the mother's thoughts and feelings than on Marley's. That also could have been good if it were not done is such a tedious manner. Every little thought and doubt is expressed repeatedly to the point you just want to gag.

The book is promoted as revealing all the families deep dark secrets as their ordeal unfolds; however, their secrets are really pretty minor and are typical of most families. Also, Marley's reason for running away is not much of an issue.

I know many teenagers are gullible, but its really hard to be believe someone is that stupid as her thought process unfolds.

I barely got through listening to this one.

Read full review

- Kate "I love audio and ebooks but only give them a 5 if they hold my attention. An avereage story gets a 3 . Thrillers & Crime are my favorites."


What disappointed you about Don't Try to Find Me?

It wasn't a mystery story like I thought it would be. It was rather boring.

Has Don't Try to Find Me turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. I was recommended this book based on my love of Gillian Flynn books. This does not compare at all.

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

The narrators, I think there was more than one, did a fine job.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?


Any additional comments?

It was boring and I was glad when it was over.

Read full review

- Good Habit

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-08-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio