• Death on the Air and Other Stories

  • By: Ngaio Marsh
  • Narrated by: Wanda McCaddon
  • Length: 6 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 04-22-04
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • 4 out of 5 stars 3.9 (83 ratings)

Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A man dies with his hand on a radio dial. A distinguished aristocrat finds murder at the opening night of a play. A cryptogram produces death in an English churchyard. Death on the Air and Other Stories serves as the perfect introduction to Ngaio Marsh and her creation, Inspector Roderick Alleyn, or as a nostalgic journey for her many fans.
©1989 Ngaio Marsh
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lynne Phelps on 11-25-06

Fascinating insights from the author

<p>Ngaio Marsh was queen of the golden age of British “who-done-its”, far surpassing the work of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers. I have re-read her books countless times over the years. Although I thoroughly enjoyed the short stories in this anthology, and in fact ordered the anthology because of them, in the end it was the essays that I found most fascinating. </p>
<p>The introduction by author Susan Howatch was a magnificent tribute to Marsh’s work and its influence upon her own prolific and outstanding writing career. She goes on to give a very interesting biography of Ngaio Marsh and an analysis of her body of work. </p>
<p>In the first essay, Ngaio Marsh talks how the series began and how her detective, Roderick Alleyn, was formed. She also discusses the beginnings of his love, artist Agatha Troy. In the closing essay, “My Dear Boy”, she writes a conversational response to all the aspiring writers who have appealed to her over the years. These essays were significantly enhanced by the reading of Nadia May, as I could almost imagine that the author herself was speaking her thoughts. </p>
<p>The short stories were also very good. They had originally been published in various magazines and were quite ingenious, with settings spanning the range from the theater to village life to New Zealand. For those who enjoyed Marsh’s novel “Death of a Peer” (the American title of “A Surfeit of Lampreys”) you will enjoy the reappearance of Lord Michael Lamprey in a cameo role in one of the stories. Agatha Troy also makes an appearance, and, as ever, Alleyn is assisted by the trusty Inspector Fox. </p>
<p>I recommend this audio book to anyone who loves Ngaio Marsh; to anyone who would like to get to know the great Ngaio Marsh stories; and to anyone who loves classic detective fiction, particularly of the British who-done-it variety. </p>

Read More Hide me

15 of 15 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Karen on 01-04-14


What disappointed you about Death on the Air and Other Stories?

Sorry but this did not keep my attention, so I did not listen to very much.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc