Daughter of York

  • by Anne Easter Smith
  • Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
  • 23 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

History tells us that the intelligent, wealthy, and powerful Margaret of York had everything any woman could want, except for love. The acclaimed author of A Rose for the Crown takes us between the lines of history and into her heart.It is 1461. Edward, son of Richard of York, ascends to the throne, and his willful sister, Margaret, immediately becomes a pawn in European politics as Edward negotiates her marriage. The young Margaret falls deeply in love with Anthony Woodville, the married brother of Edward's queen, Elizabeth. But Edward has arranged for his sister to wed Charles, son of the Duke of Burgundy, and soon Margaret is setting sail for her new life. Her official escort: Anthony Woodville.
Margaret of York eventually commanded the respect and admiration of much of Europe, but it appears to history that she had no emotional intimate. Anne Easter Smith's rare gift for storytelling and her extensive research reveal the love that burned at the center of Margaret's life, adding a new dimension to the story of one of the 15th century's most powerful women.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Daughter of York

Excellent Book. A York Family Tree was helpful during reading as the book does stay very close to history and the characters are very believable. The narration was perfect and you leave the book caring about these people as if you really knew them. Always a good result of a well written book.
Read full review

- Phyllis

Wonderful Book

A fabulous historical fiction story. Following the life of a young noble girl as she becomes princess and falls in love and is betrothed and married to another. A story with depth, character development, & inner plots of love, politics, & religion. All the things you shouldn't speak about at the dinner table weave themselves into this wonderful story.
Read full review

- Christina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-15-2008
  • Publisher: Books on Tape