Regular price: $20.42

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.42

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Isabella of Spain was a great woman, a great Queen. Crown of Aloes is presented as a personal chronicle.
Within the framework of known fact and detail drawn from hitherto unexploited contemporary Spanish sources, a novelist’s imagination and understanding have provided motives, thoughts, and private conversations, helping to build up the fascinating character Isabella must have been.
Her fortunes were varied indeed: she knew acute poverty, faced anxiety and danger with high courage, gave much, suffered much, lived to the full. At the end she was mainly aware of her failures. It was left to others to realise how spectacular her successes had been.
©1991 Norah Lofts (P)2013 Soundings
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Linda Lou on 02-02-14


I so wanted to listen to an audiobook about Spanish history, either fact or fiction based on fact, so I searched the database here and came up with "The Crown of Castile: How Isabel Happened To Become Queen" by Beverly Enwall. Great, right? NEGATORY!!! It may have been a good story but the author decided that SHE WHO WRITES CAN ALSO NARRATE! It was awful! It sounded like somebody's Granny reading "Cinderella" while trying to keep her dentures from falling out! Plus you can't write about Isabella without mentioning her predecessor and half-brother King Henry IV, a well-known and overt homosexual who preferred young boys. Nothing wrong with that except who wants to listen to "Nana" reading about buggering boys?!?! It's really sad when a writer ruins her own book. I returned it but still had a "hankering" to learn a little bit about Queen Isabel of Spain. I gambled my refunded credit on this book. It definitely "scratched that itch" for me. The author successfully uses literary license to weave known historical facts with fiction to deliver a good story. Patience Tomlinson does a great job narrating. Well worth the "price of admission"!

Read More Hide me

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Countess_Dracul on 03-21-14

Really enjoyable listen

If you could sum up Crown of Aloes in three words, what would they be?

A fascinating listen

What was one of the most memorable moments of Crown of Aloes?

Early on in Isabels life where she feels fear for the first time, also Juanna and the parrot.

What does Patience Tomlinson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She has a lovely voice to listen to and doesn't waste time with many accents but does put emphasis where it should be.

Any additional comments?

My one problem with this book was the fact that as historical fiction I expect at the end of the book a section on what was real and what was made up and why the author said such and such, this book had no such section, leaving me with lots of information on Isabel but no idea what of it is true. I found that very disappointing.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc