Country of Red Azaleas

  • by Domnica Radulescu
  • Narrated by Yelena Shmulenson
  • 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A riveting novel about two women - one Serbian, one Bosnian - whose deep friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez.
From the moment Marija walks into Lara's classroom, freshly moved to Serbia from Sarajevo, Lara is enchanted by her vibrant beauty, confidence, and wild energy - and knows that the two are destined to be lifelong friends. Closer than sisters, the girls share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to philosophies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate for the first time: Romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome new husband, and fierce Marija returns to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism behind Bosnian lines.
In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia and Bosnia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity.
Told in lush, vivid prose, Country of Red Azaleas is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation.

More

What the Critics Say

"This exquisite novel celebrates the bonds of female friendship and the spirit of women's resilience and self-invention. A riveting and beautifully written novel, Country of Red Azaleas sheds light on our transcendent human connections in the face of war, exile, and displacement." (Jasmin Darznik, New York Times best-selling author of The Good Daughter)
"Country of Red Azaleas testifies to the resilience of women's friendships in the aftermath of one of the late 20th-century's most horrific conflicts. Well-developed, complex characters, an opulent style, ironic humor, an exotic background brought to life on the page, all contribute to a moving, spellbinding tale of love and survival." (Linda Rodriguez, author of Every Hidden Fear and finalist for the International Latino Book Award)
"A moving portrait of humanity's best overcoming humanity's worst." (Kirkus Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-05-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio