• by Robert Harris
  • Narrated by Roy Mcmillan
  • 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Pope is dead.
Behind the locked doors of the Sistine Chapel, 118 cardinals from all over the globe will cast their votes in the world's most secretive election. They are holy men. But they have ambition. And they have rivals.
Over the next 72 hours, one of them will become the most powerful spiritual figure on earth.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good "read" (listen).. but!

Excellent book with great detail and plenty of political intrigue within the Vatican. Narrator superb. Unfortunately, the ending was too contrived and brought me down with a bump!!
Read full review

- Pat Barry


Roy Mcmillon (McMillan?) read very well and matches the tone of this story.
Robert Harris writes well.

I found this book almost as good as 'The Ghost', that Robert Harris wrote some years ago.

Our Dean, in telling his own story is an exact and very likeable person who begins to take a few risks and moves away from his established comfort zone in order to do his 'job' well.
Do not expect 'leaping over tall buildings' or 'spy vs spy' or contrived plots. You as reader or listener may guess the outcome and it really does not spoil the story at all. Another story you may find is about a man we only meet as a corpse. There is an absence perhaps of the high drama of Harris's Cicero trilogy and for me 'Conclave' remains compelling.
If you have already read and enjoyed Harris's other books and wonder how the election of a Pope could stand up to his other works, my only response is 'this book is well worth your credit and your time'.
Read full review

- Sandy "Love having someone read me a story. Fires in the hearth, rain on the roof, sunny days and surf. Good friends, good food and J S Bach."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-22-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks