Citadel : Languedoc Trilogy

  • by Kate Mosse
  • Narrated by Finty Williams
  • Series: Languedoc Trilogy
  • 26 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

France, 1942: While war blazes at the front lines of Europe, in the walled southern city of Carcassonne, nestled deep in the Pyrenees, a group of courageous women is engaged in an equally lethal battle. Like their ancestors who fought northern invaders 700 years before, these members of the French Resistance - code-named Citadel - fight to liberate their home from the Nazis.
Led by a daring 18-year-old, Sandrine Vidal, and her elder sister, Marianne, the women of Citadel work quickly to sabotage their German occupiers, safeguard their neighbors and smuggle refugees over the mountains into neutral territory. But that is only part of their mission. Their struggle will reveal an older, darker combat being fought in the shadows, one meant to protect an ancient secret that, if it fell into the wrong hands, could change the course of history.
Combining rugged action with the haunting mystery of an ancient city, Citadel is a story of daring and courage, love and passion, as the women of Citadel dare the impossible to save their homeland...and the astonishing secrets buried in time are at long last revealed.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

My favorite kind of book

I love historical fiction novels. I have read all 3 of the trilogy. Very good characters, lots of descriptions & information given on period described. I did feel that maybe the author ran out of steam at the end, it didn't feel quite wrapped up to me. But having said this I would definitely listen to it again - the whole series to see what I missed the first time.
Read full review

- Cheryl

French pronunciation takes me out of the story

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Story is fine, same principle as her other works.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

The narrator is not quite as bad as the first narrator for this series but is still not good with the French.

She stresses first and second syllables when if there is ANY stress in French it is the last syllable; she consistently mispronounces Saint as SONT, and Carcasonne (KarKahSUN) as CarcassO or Carcasson (nasal vowel)... The River Ode she pronounces OAde...
All vowels in French are tight... Harper needs to find better readers when French is involved.

Was Citadel worth the listening time?

I am going to try to slog through it but it is annoying to have to deal with the French mispronunciation. It takes me right out of the story.

Read full review

- M. Miller

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-18-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio