Cinnamon and Gunpowder

  • by Eli Brown
  • Narrated by James Langton
  • 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A gripping adventure, a seaborne romance, and a twist on the tale of Scheherazade - with the best food ever served aboard a pirate's ship.
The year is 1819, and the renowned chef Owen Wedgwood has been kidnapped by the ruthless pirate Mad Hannah Mabbot. He will be spared, she tells him, as long as he puts exquisite food in front of her every Sunday without fail. To appease the red-haired captain, Wedgwood gets cracking with the meager supplies on board. His first triumph at sea is actual bread, made from a sourdough starter that he leavens in a tin under his shirt throughout a roaring battle, as men are cutlassed all around him. Soon he's making tea-smoked eel and brewing pineapple-banana cider.
But Mabbot - who exerts a curious draw on the chef - is under siege. Hunted by a deadly privateer and plagued by a saboteur hidden on her ship, she pushes her crew past exhaustion in her search for the notorious Brass Fox. As Wedgwood begins to sense a method to Mabbot's madness, he must rely on the bizarre crewmembers he once feared: Mr. Apples, the fearsome giant who loves to knit; Feng and Bai, martial arts masters sworn to defend their captain; and Joshua, the deaf cabin boy who becomes the son Wedgwood never had.
Cinnamon and Gunpowder is a swashbuckling epicure's adventure simmered over a surprisingly touching love story - with a dash of the strangest, most delightful cookbook never written. Eli Brown has crafted a uniquely entertaining novel full of adventure: the Scheherazade story turned on its head, at sea, with food.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not bad-Not terrrific

Nice story, new ideas, kept me interested but not invested in the characters. The cooking aspect was a new twist and I liked that, the rest was fairly average.
Read full review

- colleen "My favorite genres are absurdist humor, Sci-fi & modern fantasy, but, as you can see, I'll read just about anything. Don't mind the typos."

a win for me

Cinnamon & Gunpowder is one of those books that you think you can explain quickly. You can’t. The basic elements (wild-haired lady pirate, stuffy chef, excellently-named nemeses, and high-stakes adventure) combine into a fantastical gumbo as wonderful as the cooking described within. It all seemed simple at first, but then when attempting to describe the plot to a friend, I found myself standing on a chair, thrusting a cutlass at imaginary rivals, shouting “OH! OH! AND THEN—“; it begs exclamation and exuberance.

Though exciting on the surface, Brown is also telling a deeper story of corruption, loyalty, the benefits of moral ambiguity, and ultimately, how we make our families. I haven’t been this excited about a leading female character in a long time. Highly recommended for fans of Blood Bones & Butter, Bloody Jack, and Downton Abbey - Master and Commander fans, you’re encouraged to take note as well. If you like adventure, if you like pirates, if you like food, this book belongs in your library.

James Langton's narration is not entirely what I was expecting, but I think he did a good job of relaying the protagonist's worldview and generally stuffiness.
Read full review

- Erin - Audible "Nothing I love more than a well-rounded character and intense plot."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2013
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio