Regular price: $16.77

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $16.77

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Life is sweet for chocolate maker Chloe Lyon. Business is booming at her artisan chocolate-makers, Chocolate Wishes, in the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond - not least because all of Chloe's sweet treats contain an inspirational prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to read in the cards, perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar…. But Chloe has long put thoughts of love behind her - after all, life is busy enough, especially as she tries to sort out her friends' tangled love lives and the village welcomes its new vicar, Raffy Sinclair.
However, the village rumour mill goes into overdrive when it is revealed that Raffy is the distinctly unorthodox ex-front man of rock band Dark Angels - and also happens to be Chloe's first love, who left her broken-hearted. Whilst Chloe tries to ignore this blast from her past, will she discover that wishes can come true when you least expect it?
A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere and perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Carole Matthews.
©2010 Trisha Ashley (P)2010 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By myrthasg on 10-21-12

sweet but not cloying...

I wasn't planning on reviewing this one but I read some reviews and thought I could throw something to the pile.

First of all: True, the story is not thought provoking or anything like that, it is light and probably does not stand too much scrutiny, but it is certainly sweet and fun and of course it is predictable as most of these are but in a good way! Let's face it if you are reading a chick lit you are looking for a fun happy ending even if it is escapism. As I said before the genre it's not exactly deep-moving-thought-provocking kind.

Now to the merits: the characters are quite real (except the Male Character who's a bit too good to be true). Physically they are mostly ordinary every day people, not drop dead gorgeous, not fat not stick skinny etc. They dress normally and mostly act normal and they are nice, so you can somehow relate to them. They DO NOT offend the reader trying to TEACH what to think, to believe, or how to behave !!! And also don't do acts of extreme stupidity, nothing that would make you gag ( and I've read and review some books like that.) And true the book is somehow christian but believe me in a very subtle open-minded non-judgemental way. And I am very susceptible to ANY kind of propaganda.

I also liked the setting, the little village, kind of bucolic,and it is the same place with some of the same characters of a previous book, which i accidentally happened to read some time ago.

The narrator has a lovely voice and intonation. Also it seemed to me just right for the character. I just thought her accent so cute!

All in all I found it entertaining and fun for a light listening of course.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Aryn on 09-22-10

Do you love angels?

Part one was really pretty good. During part two, the female protagonist began acting outside her established character and the author seemed to place more intention on just making the character fit the plot lines. SPOILER ALERT: within this slightly bi-polar characterization, the MC decided to forgive after receiving a very expensive gift; then after the surprise plot device, instant lust ensues. I nearly got whiplash from the character's occasional forays into her alternate 'universe'. Had I known the book was Christian in belief structure (yep, you can see the conversion coming) I wouldn't have bought it. That being said, most of the book was really well-written and well-narrated and, had some of the 'devices' been edited out, quite well done.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Terence on 05-02-11

A cosy Lancashire tale

Although some of the twists and turns in this book may be a little predictable, I found this a humorous and heartening Lancashire tale. It kept me engaged throughout and was well narrated. I'll look out for more from Trisha Ashley.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Katie on 06-23-15

Trisha Ashley is a real find!

You know it's a good book when you get to the end and feel like starting over again. I have already listened to this one twice as I've had it a while. It's a perfect blend of story and character, interesting little details and a narrator that fits.

So if you like books with themes such as fortune telling, angels, witchcraft(though all perfectly harmless), you'll find this book, though it may be considered quirky by some, is for you! It's full of fun, has flowing dialogue and a seamless plot. There's also an engaging romantic plot, although this is by no means all it has to offer.

The narrator is perfectly chosen for this book as she adds a slightly spooky air, her voices are particularly good.

This was my first Trisha Ashley and is now one of my favourite books and she's also one of my favourite authors.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc