Chocolate Wishes : Lancashire

  • by Trisha Ashley
  • Narrated by Julia Rounthwaite
  • Series: Lancashire
  • 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Life is sweet for chocolate maker Chloe Lyon. Business is booming at her artisan chocolate-makers, Chocolate Wishes, in the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond - not least because all of Chloe's sweet treats contain an inspirational prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to read in the cards, perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar…. But Chloe has long put thoughts of love behind her - after all, life is busy enough, especially as she tries to sort out her friends' tangled love lives and the village welcomes its new vicar, Raffy Sinclair.
However, the village rumour mill goes into overdrive when it is revealed that Raffy is the distinctly unorthodox ex-front man of rock band Dark Angels - and also happens to be Chloe's first love, who left her broken-hearted. Whilst Chloe tries to ignore this blast from her past, will she discover that wishes can come true when you least expect it?
A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere and perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Carole Matthews.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I listen to an audiobook every week or so and love them. This is the most disappointing one I have ever listened to. If I hadn't paid for it I would not have finished it.
Read full review

- Sara

sweet but not cloying...

I wasn't planning on reviewing this one but I read some reviews and thought I could throw something to the pile.

First of all: True, the story is not thought provoking or anything like that, it is light and probably does not stand too much scrutiny, but it is certainly sweet and fun and of course it is predictable as most of these are but in a good way! Let's face it if you are reading a chick lit you are looking for a fun happy ending even if it is escapism. As I said before the genre it's not exactly deep-moving-thought-provocking kind.

Now to the merits: the characters are quite real (except the Male Character who's a bit too good to be true). Physically they are mostly ordinary every day people, not drop dead gorgeous, not fat not stick skinny etc. They dress normally and mostly act normal and they are nice, so you can somehow relate to them. They DO NOT offend the reader trying to TEACH what to think, to believe, or how to behave !!! And also don't do acts of extreme stupidity, nothing that would make you gag ( and I've read and review some books like that.) And true the book is somehow christian but believe me in a very subtle open-minded non-judgemental way. And I am very susceptible to ANY kind of propaganda.

I also liked the setting, the little village, kind of bucolic,and it is the same place with some of the same characters of a previous book, which i accidentally happened to read some time ago.

The narrator has a lovely voice and intonation. Also it seemed to me just right for the character. I just thought her accent so cute!

All in all I found it entertaining and fun for a light listening of course.
Read full review

- myrthasg

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-17-2010
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited