Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules (Unabridged Selections)

  • by Edited by David Sedaris
  • Narrated by David Sedaris, Mary-Louise Parker, Cherry Jones
  • 2 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules is a collection of short stories, some classic, others impending, selected and introduced by David Sedaris. With this audiobook a careful listener can discover the truth about loneliness, betrayal, love, and hope. "Where the Door is Always Open and the Welcome Mat is Out" by Patricia Highsmith, read by Cherry Jones "Bullet In the Brain" by Tobias Wolff, read by Toby Wherry"Gryphon" by Charles Baxter, read by David Sedaris "In the Cemetery Where Al Jolson Is Buried" by Amy Hempel,read by Mary-Louise Parker"Cosmopolitan" by Akhil Sharma, read by the author


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great stories but only 5 of 17 are included

I was excited to hear the stories that David Sedaris picks as his favorites. This version only gives you 5 of the 17 in his book. I should have read the description more carefully but only noticed the term I always look for: "unabridged". In this case, that means the stories selected to be on this version are in their entirety. Don't let it stop you from listening though.
Read full review

- Terri Kirk Peteraf

Don't let 'David Sedaris' fool you

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

No. I hastily bought the book because David Sedaris' name was on it, incorrectly assuming that he wrote at least one of the stories and chose authors with a similar sense of humor. Wrong on both counts. While they were quirky little stories, none delivered the laugh-out-loud good time that Mr. Sedaris does.

Who was your favorite character and why?

This was an anthology. Too many characters for any one to stand out.

Which scene was your favorite?


Do you think Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules (Unabridged Selections) needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Not on my account.

Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-15-2005
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio