Chicago's Headmistress

  • by Loretta Giacoletto
  • Narrated by Thomas Fawley
  • 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring '20s. Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one-upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head-over-heels in love with her. This quick-study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets - those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity. But there is one man Giulietta will never forget: the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear.
A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto's Italian/American saga The Family Angel, Chicago's Headmistress can also stand alone. Every story has more than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap. And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after.
A must-listen for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO's Boardwalk Empire.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Giulietta Bracca spends her first 13 years with her mama, the prostitute, in Italy. At 13 she is already a force to be reckoned with. She is already tough and as she gets older, becomes a shrewd business woman. The author has a way of sucking you in and not letting go. I didn’t want to stop listening to this book. Every moment left me wanting more. I am definitely going to read more of Loretta Giacoletto’s other novels.
Thomas Fawley narrates this book flawlessly. I normally don’t care for male narrators reading the female characters especially when a female is the main character, but he really did an incredible job.
This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of Audiobook Blast.
Read full review

- JJLarson

Italy to New York to Chicago

Would you consider the audio edition of Chicago's Headmistress to be better than the print version?

I haven't read the ebook version but after listening to the Audible version I want to.

What did you like best about this story?

The immigrant story, I'm a fan of the Boardwalk Empire series on HBO. The era when these two examples, Chicago Headmistress and Boardwalk Empire is extremely interesting.

What about Thomas Fawley’s performance did you like?

Her voice lent itself to the story. Good pacing. Not overboard to the point of distraction that some narrators seem to be driven.

If you could take any character from Chicago's Headmistress out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Giulietta Bracca, of course. Her experiences would make fascinating Dinner conversation. Though I'm not much for Darjeeling tea. lol

Any additional comments?

As you might be able to tell from my review, I enjoyed this reading. This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com.

Read full review

- in1ear (John Row) "Denver, Co metro area resident for over fifty-five years. Retired, Mid 60's, Male, own over 9,600 Kindle books, and over 400 Audible books."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2014
  • Publisher: Loretta Giacoletto