• by Leslie Marmon Silko
  • Narrated by Pete Bradbury
  • 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Leslie Marmon Silko's sublime Ceremony is almost universally considered one of the finest novels ever written by an American Indian. It is the poetic, dreamlike tale of Tayo, a mixed-blood Laguna Pueblo and veteran of World War II. Tormented by shell shock and haunted by memories of his cousin who died in the war, Tayo struggles on his impoverished reservation. After turning to alcohol to ease his pain, he strives for a better understanding of who he is.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worth a re-read

I had a difficult time with this book at first because there is no transition when moving from character to character or past to present. I became frustrated and wanted to write it off, but I didn't and I am glad. I realized that this book is different than the average novel of today because it emulates the ancient storytelling traditions of the native american culture while having to manipulate them into the literary standards of today. Since these cultures are as different as they are, this can be a difficult task, so I opened my mind and listened again and what I got from the story is a connection to the pulse of life around me - something I never felt when reading King, Koontz, or Grisham.
Read full review

- Mariah


I read this book for a class. It is not something I would normally read and I had a hard time getting into the story. The story moves around and it's often difficult to to track of whether the main character is dreaming and reliving things from his past or if the things are happening in real time. This novel is also filled with symbolism and metaphors, so if you are looking for a straightforward story this is not the novel for you. It was interesting and caused a lot of thought on my part regarding the struggle and loss the Indian tribes of this nation suffered and are still dealing with today.
Read full review

- Shonda P. Young

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-28-2008
  • Publisher: Recorded Books