Regular price: $15.48

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom. Palmyra's royal household is on the brink of open revolt, and so a task force under the command of experienced soldiers Macro and Cato is dispatched to defend its king and guard its borders. When Parthia hears of the Roman army's presence, it starts amassing its troops for war.
Macro's cohort must march against the enemy, deep into treacherous territory. If Palmyra is not to fall into the clutches of Parthia, they will have to defeat superior numbers in a desperate siege. The quest for a lasting peace has never been more challenging, nor more critical for the future of the Empire.
©2008 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Simon Scarrow has developed a strong following... a former ancient history lecturer who knows his stuff, and brings the ancient world back to life with verve and plenty of action." (Brisbane News)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Massimo on 07-02-12

As ever good entertainement

What did you love best about Centurion?

the mixture between the Cato and Macro. This two carracters are so different that it is fun the lissen.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Centurion?

When Macro speack with the one Prince from Palmyra

Which scene was your favorite?

The fighting sceen and the sceen where Macro explains to Cato that Gulia is interessted in him, and Cato does not get it.

Who was the most memorable character of Centurion and why?

Giulia and Cato

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Pammy on 05-06-16

I enjoyed it

Okay none of the characters or plot are going to be a surprising however the reading is very enjoyable. Some of the recurring rounds of battle could have been edited out and the tension that would have really brought the book to life was missing. Yet it pottered along and much as it looks like I'm not selling this very well I can only add I would choose another book in this series.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Simon on 07-02-17

A Personal Milestone

Cato and Macro are once again pitted against enemies both within and without the ranks of the legions. Set against the Palmyrans, wonderfully mobile horse archers who pose a real challenge to the slow-moving legions and fearful of what the machinations of Narcissus may cost them from within they are sent on a perilous rescue mission. What follows is a fast-moving story full of action and Scarrow’s usual excellent historical knowledge. There is also a romantic interest but one which is included in the story without great obstruction to the overall storyline. She is an excellent female character compared to some of those before.

Keeble’s narration is as usual superb. Reading Centurion means that personally I’ve reached an interesting point in the series because this was one of the earliest audiobooks that I listened to back in the days of shuffling CDs in the car – and didn’t they always seem to end at just the wrong moment leaving an impatient wait for the next motorway junction etc???? It was bought on a whim at a service station after my latest Rebus had finished without me realising it was part of a series. I marked it then as a series to invest in and I have waded through them on Audible as happy as a pig in the proverbial. So now as I move on to the next one, I will finally be reaching out into even fresher territory than ever before. It won’t be long before I do that, of that much I am sure!

Read More Hide me

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc