Catch a Tiger by the Tail : THIRDS

  • by Charlie Cochet
  • Narrated by Mark Westfield
  • Series: THIRDS
  • 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sequel to Against the Grain
THIRDS: Book Six
Calvin Summers and Ethan Hobbs have been best friends since childhood, but somewhere along the line, their friendship evolved into something more. With the Therian Youth Center bombing, Calvin realizes just how short life can be and no longer keeps his feelings for his best friend a secret. Unfortunately, change is difficult for Ethan; most days he does well to deal with his selective mutism and social anxiety. Calvin's confession adds a new struggle for Ethan, one he fears might cost him the friendship that's been his whole world for as long as he can remember.
As partners and Defense Agents at the THIRDS, being on Destructive Delta is tough at the best of times, but between call-outs and life-threatening situations, Calvin and Ethan not only face traversing the challenges of their job, but also working toward a future as more than friends.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Love Calvin and Hobbs!

So by now you know the drill. This is book 6 and I’m pretty sure you could figure things out if you read this as a standalone but only barely ☺

It’s time for us to finally get our story for Calvin and Hobbs. They’ve been best friends forever, partnered up in THIRDS for years and fighting their sexual attraction for just as long. Recently, a bout of jealousy spurred Ethan (Hobbs) into action and we got some hot making out between the two and an uneasy relationship.

In this book we finally – FINALLY – get some resolution and our couple faces their issues and really gets over the hurdles keeping them from being the adorable couple they (and we!) know they can be.

Meanwhile there is also some more drama with the other members of THIRDS: Seb and Hudson especially. Sparks has the team doing a lot of specialized (difficult) training and lives are threatened at a birthday party at Dekatria!

There’s a cliff hanger at the end – I’ll warn ya now! – so be prepared – I’m sure it’ll end up fine… it’s the kind where we know there’ll be trouble but a happy ending – but now we all have to bite our nails til book 7!


I LOVED that we got to see the softer side of Ash and Sloane in this – lots of ooey, gooey and PURRING moments with Dex and Cael and their partners. There’s the requisite action and shooting and some more of the back story gets revealed involving the team and their pasts.

The twists and turns that Ethan and Calvin’s relationship takes are a bit surprising and I guess I was a bit … maybe let down? I was expecting a big, emotional and full of hearts and flowers thing and it sorta happened that way – but it was a bit anti-climactic. Maybe because we’d already seen them hook up or maybe because they’d been friends for so long… in any case… It was sweet and tender and sometimes scorching hot! – but a bit different than I’d expected.

I still loved them – don’t get me wrong – there is a lot of heart-string-tugging moments and tears – nobody will be disappointed by how things unfold.

All the fans will be ecstatic to read this and justifiably upset by the cliff hanger as we await for book 7!

4 of 5 stars

Mark Westfield is now to most of us the voice of THIRDS. He has some special challenges here because so much “speech” occurs in Ethan’s head. He does a great job of sort of “whispering” these lines to give us the indication that he’s not actually speaking. I’m not sure if I’d have gotten it if I hadn’t read it first, but since I knew the deal… well I think you’d get it anyway. He does his nice job with telephones and walkie talkies and other electronics as well. I found that listening to this made me appreciate how sweet Dex and Sloan are together as well as how cute Calvin’s southern accent is and his mom’s too. I love listening to this series and highly recommend it!

Narration 5 of 5 stars

Overall 4.5 of 5 stars
Read full review

- Morgan A Skye

Falls flat

Usually I like this series, however this one didn't seem to go anywhere. The performer has a most peculiar cadence to his voice sounding like he is continually whining.
Read full review

- Robert Brereton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-29-2016
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC