Cat O' Nine Tales

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Anton Lesser
  • 6 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Cat O'Nine Tales is the fifth collection of irresistible short stories from the master storyteller. Ingeniously plotted, with richly drawn characters and Jeffrey Archer's trademark unexpected conclusions, some of these 13 stories were inspired by the two years he spent in prison, including the story of a company chairman who tries to poison his wife while on a trip to St. Petersburg - with unexpected consequences. "The Red King" is a tale about a con man who discovers that an English Lord requires one more chess piece to complete a set that would be worth a fortune.
In another tale of deception, "The Commissioner", a Bombay con artist ends up in the morgue, after he uses the police chief as bait in his latest scam.
"The Perfect Murder" reveals how a convict manages to remove an old enemy while he's locked up in jail, and then set up two prison officers as his alibi.
In "Charity Begins at Home", an accountant realizes he has achieved nothing in his life, and sets out to make a fortune before he retires.
And then there is Archer's favorite, "In the Eye of the Beholder", in which a handsome star athlete falls in love with a 300-pound woman...who happens to be the ninth richest woman in Italy.


What the Critics Say

"Archer is a master entertainer." (Time)
"One of the top 10 storytellers in the world." (Los Angeles Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent pick!

I don't usually like to listen to short stories, but these aren't really short short and they are marvelously engaging, always with a twist at the end. Thoroughly enjoyable listening, and well read.
Read full review

- Katherine

Well Written

And enjoyable. Stories were like a couple chapters. Towards the end the stories change up which was nice.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2007
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio