Regular price: $22.80

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From one of our most acclaimed writers comes this dramatic tale of a well-born Southern woman whose life is forever changed by the betrayal of her mother and by the man she loves.
Growing up, the only place tomboy Thayer Wentworth felt at home was at her summer camp - Camp Sherwood Forest in the North Carolina Mountains. It was there that she came alive and where she met Nick Abrams, her first love...and first heartbreak.
Years later, Thayer marries Aengus, an Irish professor, and they move into her deceased grandmother's house in Atlanta, only miles from Camp Edgewood on Burnt Mountain where her father died years ago in a car accident. There, Aengus and Thayer lead quiet and happy lives until Aengus is invited up to the camp to tell old Irish tales to the campers. As Aengus spends less time at home and becomes more distant, Thayer must confront dark secrets-about her mother, her first love, and, most devastating of all, her husband.
©2011 Anne Rivers Siddons (P)2011 Hachette
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 08-05-11

Not so great

As an Atlantan, there are so many inconsistencies in the history, geography, etc. that it was distracting and that is the most minor complaint I have about this book. In general, I am a Siddons fan, but this book seemed to have a meandering plot with no real purpose. The ending, while I won't give it away, was unbearably disappointing and anti-climactic. This is by far one of her worst efforts and not worth the listen.

On the up side, the narrator did a GREAT job with the varying accents that she was given and it was for the narrator alone that I finished listening to the book.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Kim DeWolfe Schuler on 07-25-11

Not up to Siddons' usual caliber

The heroine was whiney and annoying, the plot was implausible (more so than usual) and this novel simply fell short of Anne Rivers Siddons usual professionalism. Very disappointed.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc