• by Colm Toibin
  • Narrated by Kirsten Potter
  • 7 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Colm Tóibín's New York Times best-selling novel - now an acclaimed film starring Saoirse Ronan and Jim Broadbent, nominated for four Academy Awards including Best Picture - is "a moving, deeply satisfying read" (Entertainment Weekly) about a young Irish immigrant in Brooklyn in the early 1950s.
"One of the most unforgettable characters in contemporary literature" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette), Eilis Lacey has come of age in small-town Ireland in the hard years following World War Two. When an Irish priest from Brooklyn offers to sponsor Eilis in America, she decides she must go, leaving her fragile mother and her charismatic sister behind.
Eilis finds work in a department store on Fulton Street and, when she least expects it, finds love. Tony, who loves the Dodgers and his big Italian family, slowly wins her over with patient charm. But just as Eilis begins to fall in love, devastating news from Ireland threatens the promise of her future.
Author "Colm Tóibí his generation's most gifted writer of love's complicated, contradictory power" (Los Angeles Times). "Written with mesmerizing power and skill" (The Boston Globe), Brooklyn is a "triumph.... One of those magically quiet novels that sneak up on readers and capture their imaginations" (USA Today).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Parts great

Potter's reading is very good. The main character's behavior is very much at odds with her personality as it's presented, and there are a few plot elements that are introduced, then dropped. But the story overall is engaging.
Read full review

- Lisa

Not a Word Wasted

I listened to the audio book in two long sessions in the garden. Toibin's musical language seems always just enough. Never reaching wide of the moment described, yet always able to convey the confusinvg conflicted emotions with a bare, simple prose only a genius can control.
Read full review

- Patricia Reville

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-05-2016
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio