• by Katherine Amt Hanna
  • Narrated by Ralph Lister
  • 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a world ravaged by a deadly pandemic, former rock star Chris Price leaves New York and sets out on a long journey home to England. It’s been six years of devastation since the plague killed his wife and daughter, and Chris is determined to find out if any of his family has survived.
His passage leaves him scarred, in body and mind, by exposure to humankind at its most desperate and dangerous. But the greatest ordeal awaits him beyond the urban ruins, in an idyllic country refuge where Chris meets a woman, Pauline, who is largely untouched by the world’s horrors. Together, Chris and Pauline undertake the most difficult facet of Chris’s journey: confronting grief, violence, and the man Chris has become. Together, they will discover whether the human spirit is capable of surviving and loving again in a world of unparalleled desolation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not what expected.

The book description lead me to think I would be part of the 6 year journey but really, it begins at the "end" of that 6 years. From there it settles into a fairly long winded relationship type of book which does go into parts of the journey but really... it is more of a apocalypse type book as if written by Nicohlas Sparks. Lots of talk....LOTS.. and some of it overwrought.

With that in mind, it is well written and well narrated. If you do chose this book, make sure you ignore the first part of the books description and only read that second paragraph.
Read full review

- danpri


This book gives a good illustration of what life might be like after a plague has wiped out a good portion of the population. If you’re looking for a heart pounding action packed fight for survival you’ll probably want to pass on this. What the book does over though, is a deep look at how people may react after the crap has hit the preverbal fan. Great character development and an engaging story offer up a nice tale to get you thinking about love, loss and how we go on.
Read full review

- Drew (@drewsant)

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-28-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio