Regular price: $23.07

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It is only weeks after the Second Manassas in September 1862, and Robert E. Lee takes the war north, where he will be met by "Little Mac", General George McClellan, whose northern army far outnumbers and outguns the invading Confederates. In Richmond, Virginia, Starbuck is given command of a punishment battalion, a motley collection of cowards, thieves, deserters, and murderers, officered by men who do not welcome Starbuck's arrival. Setting off to join Lee's army, Starbuck's men reach Harper's Ferry in time to take part in Stonewall Jackson's capture of the Union garrison. From there, it is on to the legendary horror of Sharpsburg beside the Antietam Creek, forever to be remembered as the bloodiest single day of the war. There, in the cornfield, Starbuck and his despised men will have their courage and commitment tested as never before.
(P)2001 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By DMHVetSurveyor on 12-13-06


This entire series is a must read for anyone who enjoys a great novel and/or enjoys the civil war. Great writing and narration. Enjoy the entire series.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

By Fred on 06-21-17

What's the holdup?

This is my favorite Cornwell series. Cmon, Bernie, don't leave me hanging. Time to finish the series!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Simon on 08-25-14

A fitting end?

Mr Cornwell is keeping us guessing about whether there will be any more Starbuck books. Basically the Sharpe series kind of swallowed poor Starbuck hole. I hope we will see more but if not this was a fitting end for his US Civil War hero. A classic battle and a book filled with the intrigue of feuding characters and the utter terror and stupidity that epitomised the warfare of the period. An excellent read and the usual excellent performance from master Gardner, the man with a voice like liquid granite.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc