Black Swan Green

  • by David Mitchell
  • Narrated by Chris Nelson
  • 14 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jason Taylor is 13, doomed to be growing up in the most boring family in the deadest village on earth. In 13 chapters we follow 13 months of his life as he negotiates the pitfalls of school and home and contends with bullies, girls, and family politics. In the distance, the Falklands conflict breaks out; close at hand, the village mobilises against a gypsy camp. And through Jason's eyes, we see what he doesn't know he knows and watch unfold what will make him wish his life had been as uneventful as he believed.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Simply wonderful.

I first came across David Mitchell when I rented the Audio Book version of his novel “Cloud Atlas” from my local library. By the time this unabridged edition had run its course I was both breathless and astonished. Cloud Atlas is multi-layered and absorbing story that concludes with a subtle yet bold statement on human existence. Of course when I discovered that Audible had Mitchell’s latest novel “Black Swan Green” available, I quickly snatched it up in anticipation more literary fireworks, and I was not disappointed. This story concerns Jason Taylor, a boy on the cusp of adolescence. In this well observed and deeply insightful character study we become privy to Jason’s innermost thoughts through the course of a year as he comes to terms with a world that is rapidly changing around him. We partake in his trails, identify with his naivety, remember our own burgeoning sexuality, take pleasure in his humour and admire his courage as he takes bold, yet considered steps toward a new course of life. This book is a profound reminiscence of a time of life that that is gone in the blink of an eye. Mitchell is a writer with a unique talent, please download this book, it is simply wonderful.
Read full review

- Andrew

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-29-2006
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks