Black Knights of the Hudson Book III: Changing of the Guard : Black Knights of the Hudson

  • by Beverly C. Gray
  • Narrated by Steven Roy Grimsley
  • Series: Black Knights of the Hudson
  • 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Black Knights of the Hudson series is about a fictional family in the U.S. Army, tracing their lives from 1860 through World War II. The books should appeal to readers who enjoy historical fiction, family sagas, and military fiction. Changing of the Guard (1885 to 1898) is the third book in the tale of the MacKendrick family, who live by West Point's motto of "Duty, Honor, Country." Here the reader meets the vivid offspring of James and Timothy MacKendrick. With the Indian Wars tapering down, the attention of the young nation turns to flexing its muscles. The MacKendricks are involved thoroughly with the changes facing both their country and their vivid family.
Randolph follows his father to West Point, but finds the Academy much changed from its early days. Instead of producing the brilliant engineers, soldiers, and statesmen of previous decades, West Point has become an iron-bound institution that seems content to churn out little tin soldiers.
Philip, a maverick like his mother, has little interest in pursuing a military career, but turns to a path that will take him to the depths of a collapsing coal mine and the heights of San Juan.
Young Jackson Lee and Fitzjames yearn to follow in the footsteps of their father, and yield to the call of the bugle when it sounds for Cuba, long before they are old enough to even enter West Point.
The MacKendricks eagerly embrace destiny as their country spreads its arms beyond the continental shelves. From the political games of Washington, to the jungles of Cuba with Fighting' Joe Wheeler and Theodore Roosevelt, the MacKendrick men and women turn their faces to the wind, and endure tragedy and triumph with all the flags flying.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2013
  • Publisher: Beverly C. Gray