Betrayal : Thomas Kydd

  • by Julian Stockwin
  • Narrated by Christian Rodska
  • Series: Thomas Kydd
  • 11 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Cape Colony is proving a tiresome assignment for Captain Kydd's daring commander-in-chief. Rumours of popular unrest in the Spanish colonies and of a treasure hoard spur him to assemble a makeshift invasion fleet and launch a bold attack on the capital of the Viceroyalty of the River Plate, Buenos Aires. Navigating the treacherous bars and mud flats of the river, the British invasion force lands and wins a battle against improbable odds, taking the capital and the silver. But nothing is as simple as it seems here: the uprising that will see the end of Spanish rule never arrives and the locals begin to see dark conspiracies behind the invader's actions.
Soon the tiny British force finds itself surrounded by an ever more hostile population. The city begins to revolt against its liberators. Now Kydd's men must face fierce resistance and the betrayal of their closest allies. Can they save themselves, and their prize?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Kidd summary

This Kidd series has been fun and I'll be waiting for the final books. All are baised on history and provide a great review of events of the time. As sea stories they can't be beat.
Read full review

- Marc

Bogged down and couldn't finish

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I'm sure I'll get back to this story someday, but it just bogged down too much and I dropped it and moved on without finishing it.

What could Julian Stockwin have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

This book looses much of the adventure of the previous books. Like the earlier "Admirals Daughter", the reader is constantly reminded that "this will not end well." It is hard to love a character who keeps blindly heading down the path to foolish self-destruction.

Do you think Betrayal needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

I certainly hope that later stories in this series get back to the promise that the first books had.

Read full review

- Alan Coffel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-15-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios