Regular price: $21.58

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.58

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage. Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness. Until the day her husband fails to come home....
The more questions Hannah asks, the fewer answers she finds. But are the secrets that Mark has been keeping designed to protect him or protect her? And can you ever really know what happened before you met?
©2014 Lucie Whitehouse (P)2014 W F Howes Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

‘A fiendishly spun tissue of lies and charm eventually gives way to a bloody showdown’ INDEPENDENT
‘A creepily effective thriller, Whitehouse… marshals her creations to an enjoyably nail-biting, spine-tingling denouement’ OBSERVER
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By katy on 09-29-14

Well Worth Reading

If you could sum up Before We Met in three words, what would they be?

Well worth reading

What other book might you compare Before We Met to, and why?

I would compare this book to Before I Go To Sleep, which was also recommended by the ITV Crime Thriller Awards

What about Polly Whitehouse’s performance did you like?

Polly reads well, however I personally found some of the pauses too long, otherwise I would have given a five star.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

How well can you ever know people?

Any additional comments?

I would have given the book a five star rating if the beginning was written at a faster pace. For me the book was slow starting but it turned into a great plot

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful


By Jeeds on 12-04-14

A Dark, Twisty Marriage Thriller

'Before We Met' is a surprisingly gripping story. It starts off relatively light and unassuming, however like a loose thread on a sweater, one little tug and everything starts unravelling.
I liked the main character, Hannah, and found her quite believable and I bought into the majority of her actions and choices. However, towards the end of the novel it did have to suspend my belief in order to fully commit to the story.
There's not much I can say plot wise as I am bound to reveal a spoiler. Yet I will say it is an addictive story (I listened to it over three days, going back to the story when ever I had a free moment), the pace is well judged and I loved the narration.
Fans of Louise Douglas, Julia Crouch, Claire Seeber and Hannah Richell will enjoy this novel.
I have to say that it's not as twisted or edgy as 'Gone Girl' which is the Queen of the new "Marriage Thriller" genre, but it's still a great listen and I would definitely consider other titles by this author.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mari on 10-23-14

Predictable But Enjoyable Light Read

Nothing new in this story but it was quite enjoyable. A light read between more 'meaty' reads. The plot was predictable but it was well told and I enjoyed the narration.

I was able to purchase this book for $6.62 via the Amazon.Com.Au site where I bought the Kindle version for $3.63 then was able to buy the Audible version for $2.99. The 'Whispersync for Voice' department in Amazon.com.au have some great bargains which is fantastic if, like me, you tend to read more than one book per month.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews