Before I Go to Sleep

  • by S. J. Watson
  • Narrated by Orlagh Cassidy
  • 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I'm still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me...."
Memories define us.
So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?
Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love - all forgotten overnight.
And the one person you trust may be telling you only half the story.
Welcome to Christine's life.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A terrifying story

Any additional comments?

This book is really scary on so many levels. The vulnerable main character suffers ongoing terrible abuse and betrayal. Heavy on the violence, sense of loss and abandonment. A page turner but a cautionary story that is more thriller than anything else. Haunting.

Read full review

- Sara "Avid Reader"


Part mystery, part chronicle of brain damage. The story pushes you to extrapolate and guess on the real story going on...the really interesting parts are less about her condition (amnesia that restarts every day)than the relationships around her and trust. The plot and culmination aren't shockingly surprising - but the exploration of what it's like to live in a world with lost memory grabbed my interest. The "trust" in others is the big issue. I'd have like more "strange" brain trivia and information mixed in perhaps...the time she spent in hospital is covered quickly but truly frightening...I guess I enjoyed it but would have preferred more about the early experience and less of the "Mystery" of whoddunit. Still it was pretty good, in comparison to many of the memory loss/manipulation tales out there. Maybe I'm being too hard on it, I did enjoy it, but i see the potential for a much better book inside here....
Read full review

- Annette "I'm trying to wean myself and learn to function without earbuds for more than ten minutes at a time. It hasn't been easy. I lose balance..."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2011
  • Publisher: HarperAudio