Augustus

  • by John Williams
  • Narrated by Robin Field
  • 14 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.
A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.
Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

More

What the Critics Say

Augustus is a masterpiece.” (Los Angeles Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The son of Caesar calls to you.

“One does not deceive oneself about the consequences of one's acts; one deceives oneself about the ease with which one can live with those consequences.”
― John Williams, Augustus

John Williams read some Robert Graves and said, "Yeah, I got this Roman. I can do this." I'm trying to think of equivalent historical fiction that orbits the same level of prose mastery: Norman Mailer, Robert Graves, Hilary Mantel, E. L. Doctorow and a few others belong on this very short list.

There are some writers (like Pynchon, etc) who seem to find their groove and mine that style/approach for all it is worth. Others like Williams just appear to get bored with one style, form, or approach to literature. They want to master all. John Williams who is also known for his college novel Stoner and his Western Butcher's Crossing decided to give writing an epistolary, historical novel a try. What he created is one of the greatest historical novels of all time. Probably not as good as Robert Graves (or dare I say Hilary Mantel), but damn close.
Read full review

- Darwin8u

Excellent book, weak reading

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is one of the best Historical fiction I have ever read


What did you like best about this story?

Great writing, and its organization as a set of letters is brilliant.


What about Robin Field’s performance did you like?

He is trying to change his diction for the various narrators.And it sounds terrible, particularly when narrating women.
YOu should get a different narror for this wonderful book.


Read full review

- Naftaly

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-03-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.