Regular price: $25.17

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.
A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.
Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.
©1972 John Williams; 1995 by Nancy Williams (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Augustus is a masterpiece.” ( Los Angeles Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Darwin8u on 05-16-15

The son of Caesar calls to you.

“One does not deceive oneself about the consequences of one's acts; one deceives oneself about the ease with which one can live with those consequences.”
― John Williams, Augustus

John Williams read some Robert Graves and said, "Yeah, I got this Roman. I can do this." I'm trying to think of equivalent historical fiction that orbits the same level of prose mastery: Norman Mailer, Robert Graves, Hilary Mantel, E. L. Doctorow and a few others belong on this very short list.

There are some writers (like Pynchon, etc) who seem to find their groove and mine that style/approach for all it is worth. Others like Williams just appear to get bored with one style, form, or approach to literature. They want to master all. John Williams who is also known for his college novel Stoner and his Western Butcher's Crossing decided to give writing an epistolary, historical novel a try. What he created is one of the greatest historical novels of all time. Probably not as good as Robert Graves (or dare I say Hilary Mantel), but damn close.

Read More Hide me

16 of 21 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Naftaly on 06-12-14

Excellent book, weak reading

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is one of the best Historical fiction I have ever read

What did you like best about this story?

Great writing, and its organization as a set of letters is brilliant.

What about Robin Field’s performance did you like?

He is trying to change his diction for the various narrators.And it sounds terrible, particularly when narrating women.
YOu should get a different narror for this wonderful book.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Tamas Lorincz on 05-11-15

It was OK.

This is a book written in 1971 - and it shows. It would probably have been better read than listened to. I personally find letters and diary entries a rather tedious way of telling a story (there are some great exceptions, of course). Bringing in a new character writing about something no one would have written about is now way to deliver a story convincingly. I did grow on me, however and I quite enjoyed the second half of the book. This is mostly due to my fascination with the era and the characters rather than the book or the performance.

Read More Hide me

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By BCTyler on 01-11-18

great story, sometimes irritating performance

The cadence of the narrator's speech was at times annoying but the story and the structure of it was wonderful!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc