At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances : Portuguese Irregular Verbs

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by Paul Hecht
  • Series: Portuguese Irregular Verbs
  • 3 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The irresistible wit and charm of Alexander McCall Smith's New York Times best-selling No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series has won over countless fans. The same subtle humor and enchanting characterizations are full on display in At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances, the third entertaining novella starring Professor Doctor Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld. Von Igelfeld is quite pleased with his role as a visiting scholar at Cambridge, even if his English colleagues can be difficult to comprehend. They frequently speak in metaphors and make peculiar assumptions, saying such odd things as, "I take it your journey went well," when that is not the case at all. But von Igelfeld settles in the best he can, and is soon deeply embroiled in some shady political scheming at the university. After returning to the comfort of his perfectly rational Germany, von Igelfeld is invited to Columbia for a special fellowship. But while there, he gets caught up in some decidedly unscrupulous behavior.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ridiculously Fun

I enjoyed this book as much as any of McCall Smith's others, though it was a bit over the top, even for Professor Doctor Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld. His stuffy self satisfaction and obliviously ethnocentric views somehow blend with an ultimately moral character and occassional display of feeling that leave him in mind as an infernal teddy bear. All of the previous books in this series have been fairly believable as to plot; this one not so much--perhaps it is McCall Smith's token work of Magical Realism? Regardless, I enjoyed the read/listen very much.
Read full review

- E. Pearson

Loved this book

I cried I was laughing so hard. You will throughly enjoy this book. I do recommend reading it in order.
Read full review

- Kathryn R. Holcomb

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-07-2005
  • Publisher: Recorded Books