April's Rain : Tucker

  • by David Johnson
  • Narrated by Laural Merlington
  • Series: Tucker
  • 10 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Eight years after losing her closest friend, Tucker struggles to keep her rebellious, self-destructive granddaughter under control. When April accidentally kills her boyfriend while defending herself from his attack, Judge Jack helps Tucker ferry her granddaughter away to Spirit Lake, a remote treatment facility in the mountains of eastern Tennessee. There, April creates a false identity, painting herself as a young socialite, and blocks Tucker's attempts at communication.
Tucker's grandson March, missing for eight years, is discovered half-dead, having lost both his sight and his memories. As he recovers, March's blindness persists but fragments of his life reemerge. When he finds himself at Spirit Lake, he runs headlong into his past.
Will Tucker be able to reunite her family after their paths have splintered?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Poweerful, intense, inspiring, & beautiful!

Novels simply do not get better than David Johnson's 5 book Tucker series. April's Rain, her tears, is Book 3. I had to stop for lighter fare after Book 2 due to the intensity. Now I'm ready for March On which is book 4. Laural Merlington narrates the audiobook and she does a great job.

Book 5, Who Will Hear Me When I Cry, is not available (yet?) in audiobook format, so I guess I'll have to read it in Kindle ebook format. Audible, how about Book 5?

My genres of choice are all in the mystery/thriller category, but I am very happy I found this contemporary fiction series.

I recommend this series with one reservation: avowed atheists may not like the religious aspect which is present but not overwhelming. It is certainly far less intensely religious then novels by Catherine Coulter or Joel C Rosenberg.
Read full review

- Wayne

April’s Rain

Any additional comments?

These comments address the The Tucker Series, as of this writing four novels written by David Johnson. All of the unabridged audiobooks are narrated by Laural Merlington. Lengths vary from just under six hours to just over ten. I was introduced to the first book via an Audible Daily Deal and enjoyed the story enough to finish the entire series.

The stories center around the lead character, Tucker. Tucker is an elderly woman, a victim of child abuse, who has been saddled with the raising of her three grandchildren. The setting is a life of extreme poverty in rural Tennessee.

My initial reaction is positive with a few codicils. Working through all four novels became a bit tedious, many areas a bit too preachy for my taste .. especially in books three and four. The characters were also very teary, lots of crying and angst. For those squeamish of the topic, some terrible child abuse is vividly described. There are many instances that had me rolling my eyes … some situations and character behavior lacks credibility.

Reason I liked these stories? Character development and narration. David Johnson does a terrific job with the character of Tucker. I’m sure you’ll find other characters in the stories that are well developed and believable. Narration by Merlington is excellent … unique voices for all characters.

If you are interested in a familial tale, with character development exceptional, you will enjoy The Tucker Series.

If you’re turned off by books that are very preachy and loaded with christian values, these are not for you.

Read full review

- BookReader

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-05-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio