• Appalachian Galapagos

  • A Scary Rednecks Collection
  • By: Weston Ochse, David Whitman
  • Narrated by: Arnie Mazer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-06-13
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Crossroad Press
  • 3 out of 5 stars 3.2 (6 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Appalachian Galapagos follows the smash success of Scary Rednecks and Other Inbred Horrors with authors Weston Ochse and David Whitman returning us to the world of rednecks, human-skin beer cozies, urban legends come to life, southern mythology, drunkards flying in lawn chairs, contemplations on the nature of god, and the monsters within us all. Galapagos cements its ownership of the genre opening with a grand opus of a novella co-written by both authors, featuring backwoods churches, boat rides, and bigfoots. Fourteen additional stories provide us glorious glances into a world of bug zappers, cheetos, and beer-fueled madness. Grand Master of Horror Edward Lee points out in his introduction that "this very successful collection is unlike anything that is being done today' and 'is perhaps the most successful collection of the year."

IntroductionPreface: Excerpt from a Speech given by Professor Elvis G. Giddy on Survival of the Fittest - Edward Lee
Origin of a Species or Up Shit's Creek With a Case of Beer and No F--king Paddles - Weston Ochse and David Whitman
Pitfighter Serenade - Weston Ochse
With Quiet Violence (Originally published in The Edge, 2000) - David Whitman
The Winnowing - Weston Ochse
Killin' Lenny - David Whitman
The Smell of Leaves Burning in Winter - Weston Ochse
Beautiful Ugly (Originally published in Electric Wine, 2000) - David Whitman
The Rememory Man - Weston Ochse
Who Watches the Watcher (Originally published in Sinister Element, 1998) - David Whitman
The Qualities of Mercy (Originally published in Primordial Magazine, 1999) - Weston Ochse
Degeneration - David Whitman
Eli's Coming - Weston Ochse
We've Only Just Begun - David Whitman
Summer Planting (Originally published in Sinister Element 1998) - Weston Ochse
Flying Through Heavens With Beer In Hand - David Whitman
©2003 Weston Ochse & David Whitman (P)2013 David N. Wilson
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Make way for a new powerhouse on the block. Hard work and formidable skills have already shot-gunned Ochse to the front of the genre's exciting new pack of writers. With creative brawn, brains, and balls, the guy's locked, loaded, and switched to full-auto, blazing away with his unique and original brand of modern horror, one of the few new writers, I'd say, who will help re-define the field for the future." (Edward Lee)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc