And Thereby Hangs a Tale

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Gerard Doyle
  • 7 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author Jeffrey Archer has spent the last five years gathering spellbinding stories from around the globe. These 15 brand-new tales showcase Archer's talent for capturing an unforgettable moment in time, whether tragic, comic, or outrageous.
In India, Jamwal and Nisha fall in love while waiting for a traffic light to turn green on the streets of Delhi.
From Germany comes “A Good Eye”, the tale of a priceless oil painting that has remained in the same family for over two hundred years; to the Channel Islands and “Members Only”, where a golf ball falls out of a Christmas cracker, and a young man's life will never be the same; to Italy and “No Room at the Inn”, where a young man who is trying to book a room at a hotel ends up in bed with the receptionist; to England, where, in “High Heels”, a woman has to explain to her husband why a pair of designer shoes couldn't have gone up in flames....
Some of these stories will make you laugh; others will bring you to tears, but once again, every one of them will demand that you keep listening until you finally discover what happens to this remarkable cast of characters.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I am thoroughly enjoying these tales. The narrator makes the writing come to life with good vocal interpretations of men and women alike.
Read full review

- S. Sarabasha

Short but sweet tales with interesting endings

Would you listen to And Thereby Hangs a Tale again? Why?

Yes. I didn't catch all of the intricacies the first time.

Who was your favorite character and why?

They were all good. each story was unique.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

The narration was great.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Any additional comments?

Worth recommending, but then all of this authors books are good.

Read full review

- Peter H.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-14-2010
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio