Regular price: $31.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

After three long years of scrimping and saving to buy tickets for their passage to America, Roald and Ingeborg Bjorklund, along with their son, Thorliff, finally arrive at the docks of New York City. It was the promise of free land that fed their dream and lured them from their beloved home high above the fjords of Norway in 1880. As they join the throngs of countless immigrants passing through Castle Garden, the Bjorklunds soon discover that nothing is as they had envisioned it. Appalled by the horrid stories of fellow immigrants forced to live in squalid living conditions, they continue their long journey by train as far as Grand Forks. From there a covered wagon takes them into Dakota Territory, where they settle on the banks of the Red River. But there was no way for them to foresee the price they will have to pay to wrest a living from the indomitable land. The virgin prairie refuses to yield its treasure without a struggle. Will they be strong enough to overcome the hardships of that first winter?
©1996 Lauraine Snelling (P)2015 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Prairie stories usually abound in cliches, but Snelling avoids every one of them." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Nicole on 12-27-16


This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Someone who usually likes nonfiction.

Has An Untamed Land turned you off from other books in this genre?

It hasn't turned me off from the genre, it is just a really boring book.

Have you listened to any of Callie Beaulieu’s other performances before? How does this one compare?


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from An Untamed Land?

The book is filled with so much detail that it is tedious. It has a lot of great, vibrant imagery but it is filled with just regular detail filled days. Almost nothing ever happens and when something does, the action is short lived.

Any additional comments?

I had really high hopes for the book because there is great character development in the beginning but the characters remain very static throughout the rest of the book. There are also lots of parts where the reader thinks that there will be some kind of an action scene only to have everything be just fine. The book needs a defibrillator.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By beckyann on 09-08-17

enjoyed it.

Thought provoking, showing how one can fall into self reliance when bitterness is allowed to take root in one's heart and mind. One little step away from God can lead to many. Yet, one prayer of repentance can bring us back to relationship with God.
The narration was excellent and easy to listen to.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc