An Accomplished Woman

  • by Jude Morgan
  • Narrated by Phyllida Nash
  • 14 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

1817. As a young woman, clever, self-reliant Lydia Templeton scandalised society by rejecting Lewis Durrant, the county's most eligible batchelor.Ten years later, Lydia has no regrets and, having concluded that matters of the heart need no longer trouble her, she is quite happy to remain unwed. But others still seek Lydia's advice on their love lives.

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lovely

I confess, it took me several months to get past the first two chapters of 'An Accomplished Woman', which is odd as I usually devour audiobooks narrated by Phyllida Nash (who is always excellent). After a 4 month hiatus, I began listening to it again after christmas and after that i simply couldn't stop listening!

It is a little slow to start off, but after awhile I found the main character, Lydia Templeton, to be utterly engaging, hilariously witty and very, very likeable. I haven't loved a Regency heroine this much since I first picked up 'Pride and Prejudice' 12 years ago. The few character plot twists presented in the second half of the audiobook were unexpected but left me with such a lovely feeling of satifaction that when the last word had been spoken I had to listen to the entire book all over again!

If you're a fan of Austen, Elizabeth Aston or Georgette Heyer - or indeed, of Phyllida Nash - you should absolutely spend a credit on this audiobook. I'm now looking to buy a printed copy of it!!
Read full review

- Meg

for fans of Heyer and Austen-homages

(And you know who you are, even if you don't admit it publicly.)

This is one of the wittiest and well-written cures for the information overloaded brain produced since Heyer.
Read full review

- connie "Narrative makes the world go round."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-03-2008
  • Publisher: Audible Studios