Always

  • by Sarah Jio
  • Narrated by Brittany Pressley
  • 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go and the heart's capacity to remember, from the New York Times best-selling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violets of March.
Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fiancé, Ryan, at one of Seattle's chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can't believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist and is now engaged to a guy who is perfect in nearly every way. As she and Ryan leave the restaurant, Kailey spies a thin, bearded homeless man on the sidewalk. She approaches him to offer up her bag of leftovers and is stunned when their eyes meet, then stricken to her very core: The man is the love of her life, Cade McAllister.
When Kailey met Cade 10 years ago, their attraction was immediate and intense - everything connected and felt right. But it all ended suddenly, leaving Kailey devastated. Now the poor soul on the street is a faded version of her former beloved: His weathered and weary face is as handsome as Kailey remembers, but his mind has suffered in the intervening years. Over the next few weeks, Kailey helps Cade begin to piece his life together, something she initially keeps from Ryan. As she revisits her long-ago relationship, Kailey realizes that she must decide exactly what - and whom - she wants.
Alternating between the past and the present, Always is a beautifully unfolding exploration of a woman faced with an impossible choice, a woman who discovers what she's willing to save and what she will sacrifice for true love.

More

What the Critics Say

"A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia.... Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

Compared to Blackberry Winter and Violets of March this book was disappointing. It was extremely predictable, no real mystery, and the resolution of the friendship between Cade and James was anticlimactic and made no sense in the context of the lead up to it. This seemed like a romance story for an older teen girl or a young twenty something. And as another reviewer said what happened to Eddie, the dog?
Read full review

- Jo Ellen Keigley

Nice book - fairly predictable

Nice "feel good" book - definitely in the category of summer reading. I needed a better villain. Kept looking for danger, but it was not there.
Read full review

- Glenda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audio