Regular price: $20.24

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Age of Iron is book 1 in the hugely popular audiobook series Iron Age Trilogy by highly-acclaimed fantasy writer Angus Watson and narrated by English actor Sean Barrett. This spectacular series is a feast of iron-fuelled battles, evil, bloodshed and lust. Dug Sealskinner the travelling mercenary has joined forces with a child and a dangerously revengeful warrior to take on the entire army of King Zadar. They are unprepared and unarmed – death is imminent. The twists in this story are phenomenal and the writing is exceptional. This is a pulse-quickening saga where only dark magic holds the key to survival. Available now from Audible.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Legends aren't born. They're forged.
Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar's army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people. First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar's most fearsome warriors, who's vowed revenge on the king for her sister's execution.
Now Dug's on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join ­- and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child, and one unpredictable, highly-trained warrior with a lust for revenge that's going to get them all killed.... It's a glorious day to die.
©2014 Angus Watson (P)2014 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Thomas on 05-22-18

totally awesome.

Superb narration, very enjoyable story. such a nice surprise...and its even funny as hell. for fans of Abercrombie, M Sullivan.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By graham on 11-12-14

a good yarn

Sean Barrett is without doubt a fabulous narrator so I feel most books he reads will usually be enjoyable. The story is good and I will definitely get part two when it is out. Dug is a fine character and there is an equally good supporting cast of characters. it's a typical road movie of revenge and mishap that chugs along at a comfortable pace. The historical notes have been kept in at the end which is helpful for me as like that sort of thing--if you tend to enjoy Bernard Cornwells Saxon or Arthur books, or a bit of Game of Thrones fantasy and are looking for a new tale, I reckon you will like this too-if you don't just send it back

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Leslie on 11-13-14

caught me up, could not stop listening until end

Would you listen to Age of Iron again? Why?

yes, very gripping

What other book might you compare Age of Iron to, and why?

not so much another book as another author/ books, it has the feel and style of D Gemmell... but stands out on its own, very good

Which scene did you most enjoy?

all the book

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I enjoyed it all

Any additional comments?

fantastic listen

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Chris Hardwicke on 10-22-16

Well worth a read!

What made the experience of listening to Age of Iron the most enjoyable?

Great story, well told with likeable characters. I also liked the thought of incorporating historical elements, that had been researched, into a fantasy yarn.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Doug!! Badger's balls!! Great phrases!!

Have you listened to any of Sean Barrett’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Top of my list as a story teller! Brilliant voice for audio books!! I look for books narrated by this guy as an indicator of what might be a good story. Haven't been disappointed so far.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely - and it kept my attention throughout.

Any additional comments?

About to download the other two in the series.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Zora on 06-08-15

Clever, imaginative and fascinating, if sometimes a bit too gory

Great book, and terrifically well-realized characters. Also quite funny in places which I greatly appreciated, but some of the violence is hard to listen to, particularly the various forms of torture described in great detail.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews