After the Quake

  • by Haruki Murakami
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas, Teresa Gallagher, Adam Sims
  • 4 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1995, the Japanese city of Kobe suffered a massive earthquake. Nearly 6,000 people died. After the Quake was the imaginative response from Japan's leading novelist, Haruki Murakami.


What the Critics Say

"These six stories, all loosely connected to the disastrous 1995 earthquake in Kobe, are Murakami at his best. The writer, who returned to live in Japan after the Kobe earthquake, measures his country's suffering and finds reassurance in the inevitability that love will surmount tragedy, mustering his casually elegant prose and keen sense of the absurd in the service of healing." (Publishers Weekly)


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


True Murakami! This was the best story I have dowloaded yet. I have read severval Murakami and this is up there with Wind Up Bird. Some of the stories are strange but they easily pull you in. The last one had me in tears. I would recommended this book to anyone even if you aren't a great fan of Murakami, as I am.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer


Haruki's imagination is immense. There is no psychotic killer lurking; no murder to be solved. But as each story unfolds the listener is treated to chuckles because humor abounds. Mundane becomes fun and wonderous within his novels.
I've listen to all on audible and anxious for his next book.
Read full review

- Louise

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2007
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks