• by Sena Jeter Naslund
  • Narrated by Susanna Burney
  • 11 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Marie Antoinette was a child of 14 when she was made to leave her family and country to become the wife of another child, France's 15-year-old King Louis the XVI. Far from home and suddenly thrust not only into the role of a woman and wife, but of a queen, Marie Antoinette lived an astonishing, though short, existence.Though fictionalized, Abundance is based on Sena Jeter Naslund's impeccable research. It reveals Marie Antoinette as an entirely different person from the one who supposedly said of the starving French peasants, "Let them eat cake"; in fact, she rebelled against the extravagances of the court. But as an outsider, she was the target of an uprising that finally decided her fate. Naslund, who brought to life a compelling fictional woman in Ahab's Wife, now draws a gripping portrait of an historical figure we thought we knew. And in doing so, she has created one of her most memorable and moving characters.


What the Critics Say

"With vivid detail and exquisite narrative technique, Naslund exemplifies the best of historical fiction, finding the woman beneath the pose, a queen facing history as it rises up against her. "(Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not for history fans

If you love history, you're better off going elsewhere for a look at Marie Antoinette. This is a shallow look at the person and especially the period. It doesn't connect with events outside the palace and show what leads to Antoinette's, and the book's, end. For history fans, an opportunity missed.
Read full review

- llr

Awesome. Better than I expected.

I enjoyed listening to this book more than any novel in my library. It was extremely close to the real life history of Marie Antoinette and the Versailles Court. I learned quite a bit about this period in history just from this novel.
Read full review

- jessica

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-28-2006
  • Publisher: HarperAudio