AFRAID - Tidbits of the Macabre

  • by Elizabeth Massie
  • Narrated by Rebecca Clark McHugh
  • 5 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Two-time Bram Stoker-winning, veteran horror author Elizabeth Massie offers up a collection of some of her more obscure horror shorts, a sampling spanning nearly the entire length of her 27-year career thus far. AFRAID opens the collection with a new poem, "Afraid," which plays with the question, "Why do we read horror?" The 13 stories that follow include darkly light-hearted tales such as "Donald Meets Arnold," "Sweet Kitty," and "Sink or Swim," the graphically terrifying "Pit Boy" and "Los Penitentes," the darkly sinister "Brazen Bull," "Flip Flap," "Triptych of Terror," "Bargain Basement," "Now I'm With the Invalids," "Next Door Collector," and "Thundersylum," and the other-worldly and introspective "Beggars at Dawn."


What the Critics Say

"Elizabeth Massie is personally one of my favorite authors. Her writing is true, heartfelt, and wildly original. She is one of the greats." (Bentley Little)
"Massie has the stuff that makes dark fiction both entertaining and literate." (Scary Monsters)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gallery of Grotesques

A rather disappointing collection with predictable plot-lines and few original ideas. Narration was mediocre at best. Generally left me feeling sleepy rather than creepy.
Read full review

- Diane

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2011
  • Publisher: Crossroad Press