A Thousand Pardons

  • by Jonathan Dee
  • Narrated by Mark Deakins
  • 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: What do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?
Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home - a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben’s recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.
Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.
As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara’s increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.

More

What the Critics Say

"A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times." (Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad)
"A page turner without sacrificing a smidgen of psychological insight. What a triumph. (Kirkus)
"Dee is adept at meshing the complexities of marriage and family life with the paradoxes of the zeitgeist. In his sixth meticulously lathed and magnetizing novel, he riffs on the practice of crisis management…[and] nets the absurdities of a society geared to communicate in a thousand electronic modes while those closest to each other can barely make eye connect." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-12-2013
  • Publisher: Random House Audio