Regular price: $41.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $41.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never.
In the book we hear what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes listeners through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-'90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural lives today.
In the opening sentence of William Gaddis' A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.
©2008 Sergio De La Pava (P)2016 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Suramericana on 03-20-17

Un libro normal y diferente

What made the experience of listening to A Naked Singularity the most enjoyable?

La vida de Casie el dedective privado, es tan real que un ve la gente con sus brazos dañados por la droga, la corruption del sistema juridico. Te sientes como si estubieras en la corte con el.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Casie el detective, inteligente, su filosofia, su forma de ver la vida y sus alrededores, sus historias.

Which scene was your favorite?

El plan para robar la plata de Escalante el vendedor de drogas

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Te ries constantemente, hay escenas que son increible mente graciaciosas

Read More Hide me

By George on 08-02-16

I'm not sure what I listened to

I bought the because the narrator sounded good on sampling and the quick blurb about the book sounded interesting. I'm not sure what I just listened to the story was all over the place, I lost track numerous times. Also I'm not so sure how I'm supposed to take the ending either. In any case the story was a diversion but I'm not sure to or from what

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc