A Naked Singularity

  • by Sergio De La Pava
  • Narrated by Luis Moreno
  • 27 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never.
In the book we hear what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves. It's a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes listeners through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-'90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural lives today.
In the opening sentence of William Gaddis' A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Tried & Failed to get through this meandering mess

What disappointed you about A Naked Singularity?

From the description I expected this to be focused on the legal system and the Public Defender's cases. It started out that way but it quickly became obvious that this was not focused on the legal system. Instead the author wanders into minute detail of everyday events in the life of the main character. I gave up about 6 hours into the 27 hour audiobook and that is extremely rare for me. If you want to hear inane conversations between the main character and his roommates, coworkers, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, etc. than this might be for you. Not sure how any of it relates to the main plot line because it was unclear what the plot was even after the hours that I endured.


Read full review

- Joel

Un libro normal y diferente

What made the experience of listening to A Naked Singularity the most enjoyable?

La vida de Casie el dedective privado, es tan real que un ve la gente con sus brazos daƱados por la droga, la corruption del sistema juridico. Te sientes como si estubieras en la corte con el.


Who was your favorite character and why?

Casie el detective, inteligente, su filosofia, su forma de ver la vida y sus alrededores, sus historias.


Which scene was your favorite?

El plan para robar la plata de Escalante el vendedor de drogas


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Te ries constantemente, hay escenas que son increible mente graciaciosas


Read full review

- Suramericana "I am retire, love to read"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-22-2016
  • Publisher: Recorded Books