A Face in the Crowd

  • by Stephen King, Stewart O'Nan
  • Narrated by Craig Wasson
  • 1 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The writing team that delivered the bestselling Faithful, about the 2004 Red Sox championship season, takes listeners to the ballpark again, and to a world beyond.
Dean Evers, an elderly widower, sits in front of the television with nothing better to do than waste his leftover evenings watching baseball. It’s Rays/Mariners, and David Price is breezing through the line-up. Suddenly, in a seat a few rows up beyond the batter, Evers sees the face of someone from decades past, someone who shouldn’t be at the ballgame, shouldn’t be on the planet. And so begins a parade of people from Evers’s past, all of them occupying that seat behind home plate. Until one day Dean Evers sees someone even eerier….


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Perfect Match

After listening all of Stephen King's books that have ever been published, I am still excited to read another title from SK, even if its just a very short story. As a SK's follower, the constant reader knows that King have a passion for baseball.

I even read the "Faithful", about the Red Sox winning in 2004. It's not a surprise that he would write a story on the game, but what is surprising, that he had a co author for "A Face in the Crowd." Maybe because Stewart O'Nan was a co author of the "Faithful" also.

It is a perfect match between the two authors because they are both die hard into baseball.

Nevertheless, SK's novels and his novellas never gets old.

Unless you are a huge Red Sox fan, skip "Faithful: Two Diehard Boston Red Sox Fans Chronicle the Historic 2004 Season", because its a baseball diary between Stephen King and his friends.

As for "A Face in the Crowd", its a classic writing, short and demented.
Read full review

- Tim

Kept me reading

This is not one of Stephen Kings best but it was interesting enough to keep me reading.
Read full review

- Tara

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-21-2012
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio